Table 2: New Zealand Tertiary Education Statistics

	1961	%	1971	%	1981	%	1990	%	1997	%	2002 ^b	%
Polytechnics (technical institutes)												
Full-time	377		2,235		6,915		24,334		46,647		43,770	
Part-time	8,335		14,701		35,849		60,905		47,554		52,012	
Extra-mural	5,681		15,546		30,091		a		a		a	
Total	14,537	41.3	32,393	47.6	72,855	55.3	85,239	50.2	94,201	37.9	95,782	29.9
Colleges of Education												
Full-time	3,814		8,154		5,901		5,691		7,412		5,714	
Part-time	-		-		-		75		4,981		5,074	
Total	3,814	10.8	8,154	10.4	5,901	4.5	5,766	3.4	12,453	5.0	10,788	3.3
Universities												
Full-time	8,741		24,995		31,549		49,546		71,105		90,050	
Part-time	6,585		9,412		13,379		15,748		35,381		42,436	
Extra-mural	1,494		3,168		8,028		13,625		a		a	
Total	16,820	47.8	37,575	48.1	52,9565	40.2	78,919	46.4	106,486	42.9	132,486	41.4
Wangana	-		-		-		-		1,088	0.5	27,535	8.6
Private training ^c	na		na	-	na		na		34,068	13.7	53,385	16.7
Total tertiary	35,171		55,943		131,712		169,924		248,296		319,886	

Source: *Education statistics of New Zealand. New Zealand Year Book.* a: extra mural student included in the part-time category.

b: Auckland Institute of Technology achieved university status in 1999 so is included in the university category. c: Only includes private training providers that are registered with the New Zealand Qualifications Authority.

Table 3: New Zealand's Technical Colleges, Technical Institutes, Polytechnics and Institutes of Technology

Dunedin Technical School 1889	Otago Polytechnic 1966	, ,	<i>O</i> .	
Auckland Technical School 1895	Auckland Technical College 1906 Seddon Memorial Technical College 1913	Auckland Technical Institute 1964	Auckland Institute of Technology	Auckland University of Technology 1999
Wanganui Technical School 1892	Wanganui Technical College 1911	Wanganui Regional Community College 1984	Wanganui Regional Polytechnic	Universal College of Learning 2002
Wellington School of Design 1886	Wellington Technical School 1901	Wellington Technical College 1905	Wellington Polytechnic 1962	Massey University 1999
Palmeston North Technical School 1902	Queen Elizabeth Technical College 1955	Palmeston North Technical Institute 1971	Manawatu Polytechnic 1983	Universal College of Learning 1998
Greymouth Technical High School 1923	West Coast Community Polytechnic 1988	Tai Pountini Polytechnic 1991		-
Southland Technical College 1912	Southland Polytechnic 1972	Southern Institute of Technology 2000		
Hamilton Technical College 1920	Waikato Technical Institute 1968	Waikato Polytechnic 1987	Waikato Institute of Technology 2001	
Timaru Technical School 1919	Timaru Technical College 1934	South Canterbury Community College 1984	Aoraki Polytechnic 1987	
Petone Technical School 1904	Petone (Hutt Valley) Memorial Technical College 1930	Central Technical College 1960	Central Institute of Technology 1963	Wellington Institute of Technology 2001
	Č	Petone Technical Institute 1976	Hutt Valley Polytechnic 1988	Wellington Institute of Technology 2001
Technical Correspondence School 1946	Technical Correspondence Institute 1969	Open Polytechnic of New Zealand		
Christchurch Technical College 1907	Christchurch Technical Institute 1965	Christchurch Polytechnic	Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology 2001	
*Hawkes Bay Community College 1975	Hawkes Bay Polytechnic 1986	Eastern Institute of Technology 1996		
Manukau Technical Institute 1970	Manukau Polytechnic 1987	Manukau Institute of Technology 1995		
Carrington Technical Institute 1976	Carrington Polytechnic 1987	UNITEC Institute of Technology 1994		
*Nelson Polytechnic 1972	Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology 2000			
*Taranakai Polytechnic 1972	Western Institute of Technology 2002			
*Northland Community College 1978	Northland Polytechnic 1987			
*Bay of Plenty Community College 1982	Bay of Plenty Polytechnic 1990			

*Taitawhiti Community College 1982	Tairawhiti Polytechnic 1987	
*Parumoana Community College 1986	Whitireia Community Polytechnic	
*Wairarapa Community Polytechnic 1987	Wairarapa Polytechnic	Universal College of Learning 2001
Telford Farm Training Institute 1965	Telford Rural Polytechnic 1990	
*Waiariki Community College 1978	Wairariki Polytechnic 1987	Wairariki Institute of Technology 1998

Source: Nicol 1940; Dougherty 1999.